News Releases

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, in a letter to Chairman of the U.S. Chemical Safety Board (CSB), Rafael Moure-Eraso, U.S. Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell and U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen urged CSB to schedule a meeting in Anacortes for the public to have a chance to give feedback on an initial report on the Anacortes-Tesoro refinery explosion, which killed 7 people nearly 4 years ago.  Sens. Murray and Cantwell and Rep. Larsen expressed their continued disappointment in delays throughout the investigation, as well as their hope that CSB will be fully engaged with Anacortes as they complete this process.  The release of the initial report began a 45 day public comment period, after which the CSB will vote to approve the report.

The full text of the letter below:

Dear Chairman Moure-Eraso:

Now that the Chemical Safety Board has released its long-overdue draft findings on the Tesoro refinery explosion in Anacortes, we ask that you remain fully engaged with our constituents to complete this process. The Anacortes community deserves to have its input considered in an actionable report from your agency, in full view of the public.

It is also our expectation that once the final report is completed, the Board return to Anacortes to consider and vote on the report. 

We remain disappointed by the delays and excuses we have received from your agency throughout this investigation.  As we quickly near the four-year anniversary of this tragic accident which claimed seven lives, we expect nothing less than a full and transparent proceeding, and a final accounting of what happened, where responsibility lies, and how to avoid such incidents in the future.

Our goal continues to be making sure our refineries are as safe as possible for the people who work in them and the communities that surround them. Done properly, the final report should provide a roadmap for industry, state and federal agencies, and Congress to increase safety at refineries across the nation and help prevent tragedies like this from happening again.


Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell and Congressman Rick Larsen