News Releases

Washington, D.C.—Today, U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) was elected by the Democratic caucus to serve as Assistant Democratic Leader, the third-ranking position in Senate Democratic leadership. In this post, Senator Murray will work with Democratic Leader Schumer to shape the Democratic agenda and strategy, and will play a critical role in implementing it on and off the Senate floor with the rest of the leadership team and caucus. Senator Murray is currently the Conference Secretary, the fourth-ranking position, where she has served since 2006.

“I am honored that my colleagues have put their trust in me to take on this expanded role as their Assistant Democratic Leader in our unified Democratic leadership team,” said Senator Murray.

“We have a tough road ahead of us with Republicans in control of Congress and a new Republican President who campaigned on dividing our country and rolling back all of the progress we’ve made over the past eight years. But I stand with the rest of this Democratic leadership team ready to get to work if Republicans are willing to work with us to move our country in the right direction, and ready to fight back—tooth and nail—if they try to divide our country, hurt our constituents, or drag us backwards.

“As always, I am committed to making sure the voices and stories of families and communities back in my home state of Washington and across the country are heard loud and clear in our nation’s capital. Washington state voters sent me back to D.C. this election to fight for their values and priorities, and I am looking forward to getting to work.”

The Senate Democrats will be led in the 115th Congress by Senator Chuck Schumer as Democratic Leader. Other members of the leadership team include:

Minority Whip: Senator Dick Durbin

Assistant Democratic Leader: Senator Patty Murray

Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee: Senator Debbie Stabenow

Vice Chair of the Conference: Senator Elizabeth Warren

Vice Chair of the Conference: Senator Mark Warner

Chair of Steering Committee: Senator Amy Klobuchar

Chair of Outreach: Senator Bernie Sanders

Vice Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee: Senator Joe Manchin

Senate Democratic Conference Secretary: Senator Tammy Baldwin