News Releases

Bipartisan Senators Urge President Obama to Renew County Payments

Jul 14 2010

Senator Murray Pushes to Support Washington’s Rural Counties

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) joined 28 members of the United States Senate from both parties urging President Obama’s Administration to include a long-term reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools and Communities Self-Determination Act (SRSCA), known as the county payments program, in its 2012 budget. These payments are made based on rural counties historic timber harvest levels and the amount of public land located in a county.

“Failure to extend the SRSCA in 2012 would have a devastating impact on the economies of over 780 of our most rural and most economically depressed counties and school districts across the nation. In these counties, unemployment is higher than in other regions of the country with rates approaching those experienced in the Great Depression,” the Senators wrote in a letter to the President.

Senators signing the letter include Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.), Roger F. Wicker (R-Miss.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), James E. Risch (R-Idaho), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Orrin G. Hatch (R-Utah), Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), John Ensign (R-Nev.), John D. Rockefeller, IV (D-W.V.), Christopher S. Bond (R-MO), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), John Cornyn (R-Tex.), Robert P. Casey, Jr. (D-Penn.), Robert Bennett (R-Utah), Mark L. Pryor (D-Ark.), Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Mark Udall (D-Colo.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Russell D. Feingold (D-Wisc.), Michael F. Bennet (D-Colo.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.).

See the full text of the letter.