News Releases

(Washington, D.C.) – U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) received the National Association of Wheat Growers’ 2010 “Wheat Leader of the Year award,” the wheat industry’s highest public service award.

“I’m deeply honored to have received this award,” said Senator Murray. “The success of wheat growers in Washington state and across the country is critical to our economic recovery and I will continue working to make sure that they have the resources and support they need to thrive in this competitive economy.”

Senator Murray was nominated for the award by the Washington Association of Wheat Growers (WAWG) because of her proven leadership in securing funding for agricultural research, her support for beneficial farm bill programs, and her efforts to secure funding to dredge the Columbia River to increase the flow of agricultural products throughout Washington state. Last year, Senator Murray received the “Legislator of the Year” award from the WAWG. .