News Releases

June is LGBTQ Pride Month

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Maria Cantwell (D-WA) yesterday joined their Democratic Senate colleagues to introduce a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month. The resolution notes the contributions of LGBTQ individuals to American society and major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to ensure the equal treatment of all people in the United States, regardless of sexual orientation and gender identity.

“[The Senate] encourages the celebration of June as “LGBTQ Pride Month” in order to provide a lasting opportunity for all people in the United States to learn about the discrimination and inequality that the LGBTQ community endured, and continues to endure, and to celebrate the contributions of the LGBTQ community throughout the history of the United States,” the resolution reads.

This is the second year in a row that Senate Democrats have introduced a Pride Month resolution after President Trump broke with an eight year White House tradition and failed to offer an official presidential proclamation recognizing June as Pride Month.

In addition to Murray and Cantwell, the resolution is also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chris Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Doug Jones (D-AL), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tina Smith (D-MN), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tom Udall (D-NM), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mark Warner (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

Senators Murray and Cantwell are also sponsors of the Equality Act, legislation to insert sexual orientation and gender identity into our civil rights laws. The Equality Act would prohibit discrimination in public accommodations, education, federal financial assistance, employment, housing, credit determinations and federal jury service. The senators have also introduced legislation to protect children from so-called “conversion therapy.” The Therapeutic Fraud Prevention Act would condemn conversion therapy as fraudulent.

The full text of the resolution is available HERE.