News Releases

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, U.S. Senator Patty Murray was presented with the Washington Association of Wheat Growers’ “Legislator of the Year” award. The award is given to legislators who have made significant efforts to advance Washington’s wheat industry.

“I’m deeply honored to receive this award,” said Senator Murray. “I will continue to make sure we are giving wheat growers the tools and support they need to succeed in this competitive economy.” 

As a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Senator Murray restored and increased federal funding for agricultural research to help promote scientific advances allowing growers to stay competitive. Additionally, Senator Murray has increased funding for dredging the Columbia River to deepen the channel, allowing barges to easily transport agricultural products.

During consideration of the 2008 Farm Bill, Senator Murray also supported the creation of a permanent disaster assistance program, and worked to ensure the continuation of safety net programs that help farmers during hard times.

The Washington Association of Wheat Growers (WAWG) has been dedicated to the enrichment of the Washington wheat industry. WAWG is a nonprofit trade association that depends on volunteers for support - both activities and funding. WAWG represents wheat farmers throughout the state.