(Washington, D.C.) – Today, U.S. Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell introduced a resolution in the U.S. Senate congratulating the men’s basketball team at Western Washington University on their well-deserved NCAA Division II Championship win.

“I’m so proud of Western Washington University’s men’s basketball team and congratulate them on their hard-earned victory,” said Senator Patty Murray. “This is a great win for the school, the community, and the state, and I wish them continued success next season.”   

“Congratulations Vikings!  I commend the Western Washington University Vikings for defeating the University of Montevallo to become NCAA Division II Champions,” said Senator Maria Cantwell. “The Vikings’ hard work and dedication was evident throughout their remarkable 31-5 season. We are all proud of Western Washington University’s basketball team and join in celebrating this national achievement.”

The full text of the resolution follows:



Mrs. Murray of Washington (for herself and Ms. CANTWELL) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on ________________


Congratulating the Western Washington University men’s basketball team for winning the 2012 NCAA Division II Championship.

Whereas on March 24, 2012, for the first time in the university program’s 110-year history, Western Washington University won the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II National Men’s Basketball Championship game with a 72-65 victory over University of Montevallo;

Whereas Western Washington University guard John Allen, one of the nation's most accurate free-throw shooters at 88.7 percent, made four free throws in a row to end University of Montevallo’s late comeback in the fourth quarter;

Whereas the Vikings finished the 2012 season with an impressive record of 31-5;

Whereas head coach Brad Jackson was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches Division II Coach of the Year;

Whereas the members of the 2012 Western Washington University men’s basketball team are excellent representatives of a university that is one of the premier academic institutions in Washington state, producing many outstanding student-athletes, leaders, and scholars; and

Whereas the members of the men’s basketball team have brought great honor to themselves, their families, Western Washington University, and the State of Washington: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate--

(1) congratulates Western Washington University for winning the 2012 Men’s Basketball NCAA Division II Championship;

(2) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and dedication helped Western Washington University win the championship; and

(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to--

(A) Bruce Shepard, President of Western Washington University;

(B) Lynda Goodrich, Director of Athletics of Western Washington University; and

(C) Brad Jackson, head coach of the Western Washington University men’s basketball team.